Artist

New Exhibition this September…

I’m currently busy getting ready for our two-person show at the Eagle Gallery, Bedford next month, in which I will be displaying selected drawings and paintings that reflect my deep-rooted interest in our relationship with the Earth.

Terra Mutabilis_scaled

All my work involves story-telling in some way, and the colours I use express as honestly as I can the way I see who or what I’m painting. I aim to accurately depict the energy I sense.

Kind of Blue, watercolour, 2016

Kind of Blue, Pencil and watercolour.

I’m acutely aware that the chemistry from which human skin has evolved, for example, is also that from which the planet is formed. Even the paint I use comes from pigments and substances mined from the earth!

Our connection with nature goes far beyond recreation or fancy, being fundamentally based on science – but the stories that have been passed down through the ages to explain this chemistry have woven themselves into our history and Psyche. I paint people, landscapes and objects in a re-imagination of some of these myths and legends in order to show their relevance to the way life on Earth is changing now…

The Little Mermaid

 

Leave a Reply

